26 Texas schools nominated for 2016 national Blue Ribbon honors

AUSTIN – The Texas Education Agency today announced the nomination of 26 Texas public schools for national 2016 Blue Ribbon Schools recognition. Founded in 1982, Blue Ribbon Schools is a U.S. Department of Education program that recognizes public and private elementary, middle and high schools where students perform at very high levels.

The nominated schools in Texas include the following:

Alief ISD – Alief Early College High School
Alief ISD – Kerr High School
Azle ISD – Cross Timbers Elementary School
Belton ISD – Leon Heights Elementary School
Bishop CISD – Petronila Elementary School
Borden County ISD – Borden County School
Brownsville ISD – Brownsville Early College High School
Carrollton-Farmers Branch ISD – Rosemeade Elementary School
Dallas ISD – George Bannerman Dealey International Academy
Dallas ISD – George Bannerman Dealey Montessori Vanguard
Dallas ISD – School of Health Professions at Yvonne A. Ewell Townview Center
Edinburg CISD – Canterbury Elementary School
Edinburg CISD – Norma Linda Trevino Elementary School
Fort Worth ISD – Young Women’s Leadership Academy
Garland ISD – Hillside Academy for Excellence
Houston ISD – Lovett Elementary School
Houston ISD – Oak Forest Elementary School
Lubbock ISD – Margaret Talkington School For Young Women Leaders
Malakoff – Tool Elementary School
Miles ISD – Miles Elementary School
Panhandle ISD – Panhandle Elementary School
Pittsburg ISD – Pittsburg Intermediate School
United ISD (Laredo) – Trautmann Elementary School
Van Vleck ISD – Van Vleck Elementary School
Vista Del Futuro Charter School – Vista Del Futuro Charter School (El Paso)
Whitehouse ISD – Gus Winston Cain Elementary School

All schools that have been nominated for the 2016 honor were selected as exemplary high performing schools as measured by state assessments or nationally normed tests. Each school has an economically disadvantaged population of 20 percent or greater.

The nominated schools must now complete a rigorous application process through the U.S. Department of Education. Announcements of the national award winners will be made in September 2016.  Schools that receive the award are recognized at the Blue Ribbon Schools awards ceremony in Washington, D.C.